My week with Vivo Hair & Beauty and Woman’s Day New Zealand

Hi To Everyone,
This is a different type of blog post – about my experience with Vivo Hair & Beauty New Zealand and Woman’s Day New Zealand and what a wonderful journey it was. I should note that I was able to spend two day’s indulging in my prize as the competition winner for Woman’s Day Most Inspiring Woman in association with Vivo Hair & Beauty New Zealand.

Please note the magazine article release date is yet to be confirmed but will be released in June 2017.

On day one we started with a trip to the hair salon named Vivo Hair & Beauty located in Remuera Auckland New Zealand. This is where I was greeted by Crystal who walked me through the types of color that would best suit my hair alongside one of the other hair dresser’s. We settled for Violet before hand, my hair was naturally curly and needed a lot of attention and care – then Crystal started coloring my hair and I learned all about her and what a wonderful person she is as we chatted away about our love for animals.

It was such a fast process that I didn’t realize how fast time had gone by and so I sat with a few of our family and volunteers from The Planet Humanity Project and enjoyed tea and coffee we felt very welcome and very comfortable while we waited for the color to settle in my hair.

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, people sitting and people standing(Sheridan featured with Hair Dresser Crystal)

After about just under an hour went by it was time to wash off the hair color and shampoo my hair, the excitement to see what it would look like started to build up and as my hair was washed I started to feel completely relaxed and extremely pampered I felt like I could just rest.

Image may contain: 1 person, sitting(Washing off all the color in Sheridan’s hair)

Now it was time to see the color in my hair and when I saw it I absolutely loved the color that had come out in my hair, the violet color that we chose was one I had never had before and I was absolutely excited to see how bright it was and everyone who walked passed me would comment with “what a lovely color.” I in fact are still getting compliments on my hair color as I walk down different streets of the city complete strangers will stop me to say how lovely my hair color is and it absolutely makes my day even brighter as everyone always loves to be complimented.

Image may contain: 1 person, sitting(Sheridan seeing her new hair color for the first time a very beautiful Violet).

But it didn’t stop there, yes there’s more you thought that was the end of the story didn’t you? While no there is more, a lot more!! After being absolutely happy with the color in my hair I then was able to have my hair straightened and it did not take that long, having long hair it can take a while but I absolutely enjoyed the full treatment. And seeing my hair color shine even more when straightened brought a very big smile to my face.

Image may contain: 1 person(Crystal straightening Sheridan’s Hair)

After 2 hours of being pampered, it was time to leave the salon, I felt very special, I have met a new friend, I had enjoyed every second of being pampered and I had this amazing and beautiful hair that kept turning heads as I walked down the street, what an absolute delight!

Image may contain: 2 people, people standing and indoor(Crystal and Sheridan at the end of the hair color session)

But it was not over yet oh no it was not, I was scheduled to come back in the next day to blow out (hairstyle) and make-up. On day two I was placed with Jacques (please forgive me if I spelled this wrong). But what a joyful person he knew I was feeling a little nervous for my interview with the Woman’s Day Magazine but managed to calm my nerves with ease as we chatted away, and laughed as he started curling my hair and then came up with an amazing idea to do a pin up hair style and it came out absolutely amazing I was stoked with the result as it was the first time I had ever had a new, Different and beautiful hairstyle which really helped me stand out from a crowd. I had a tonne of fun with Jacques and I am so excited to have my hair styled by him again.

Image may contain: 1 person, sitting and indoor(Jacques styling Sheridan’s Hair)

Image may contain: one or more people and indoor(Half way through hair style)

Image may contain: one or more people and indoor(Hair style complete)

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, indoor and closeup(Sheridan Left, Jacques (Hair Dresser – Right)

Guess what, there is more! Yes, there is I was fortunate enough to have the total package after the hair was completed I had the privilege of meeting the lovely Lainey Make-Up artist for Vivo Hair & Beauty, she was very informative and very experienced with Make-Up application for photo shoots what a delight it was to be made over and I absolutely loved the end result, I was able to tell her all about our project The Planet Humanity Project and the competition that was run by Woman’s Day New Zealand and Vivo Hair & Beauty New Zealand it was great to be pampered and made over and I looked absolutely Gorgeous and as I was leaving I met some of the salons lovely clients who asked what I was getting ready for and it was so lovely to meet the lovely clients of Vivo hair & beauty they were absolutely excited to read the Woman’s Day article when it is released and I was so happy to have met them too.

Image may contain: 1 person, sitting, standing and indoor(Lainey helping Sheridan with Make-up application)

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, closeup(Beautiful Make-up application by the wonderful Lainey)

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, people standing and indoor(Featured right Sheridan, Featured Left Lainey – Make-up artist)

It was now time to leave the salon and head to the next task, however I had such a wonderful time that I had to hug everyone I met at the salon (I am not joking) and wish everyone an amazing day as well as a very heartfelt thank you, it is only now as I write this blog post that I feel these deep emotions of gratitude and gratefulness that fill my heart with joy to know that someone wanted me to experience this what an amazing prize to gift someone and I am so humbled that it is me.

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, standing and outdoor(Sheridan – Ready for her woman’s day magazine photo-shoot and magazine interview)

So what’s next? yes, there is more, you thought I was finished didn’t you, that heartfelt part made you think I was finished writing but I am not. Now that I had been made glamorous, it was time to head for my photo shoot and magazine interview and with a quick energy boosting smoothie before my shoot I quickly changed my flat shoes to my heels and walked into the building in which Kelly, Sonny, Hannah and one other person greeted me at the front door Kelly and Sonny work for Woman’s day and the other two lovely women also work for Vivo Hair & Beauty New Zealand this was such a lovely team they guided me through everything, they asked me wonderful questions about The Planet Humanity Project, they helped touch up my hair, they supported me and I had only just met them all they were so very friendly, I also met Mike photographer for Woman’s Day, Sido editor of Woman’s Day and even my lovely mum and aunt got to sit in on the photo shoot I had a whole group of supporters and lot’s of guidance from everyone involved.

After my photo shoot I was able to sit down one on one with Julie – Journalist for Woman’s Day New Zealand and it was a very interesting and comfortable interview which went very fast. After my interview I was greeted again by Sunny and Kelly from Woman’s Day New Zealand who also supplied me with a few magazines for my ride home and I walked out of the building with my head held high and happiness in my heart. What an absolutely wonderful experience!

I would like to say thank you so much for all you have done for me and I can’t forget that it was absolutely wonderful to hear that Kelly staff members of Woman’s Day had a story for me on how she started helping her community, I inspired her to take all the fruit from her fruit tree’s, wash them and place them in boxes outside her house where she leaves signs saying free take what you need or take the whole lot and everyday the boxes are empty. I thought this was so touching and a beautiful story that I just have to include it in my blog post today, good work Kelly.

I would like to say thank you to the anonymous person who nominated me, I would absolutely love to hear from you to say thank you in person for giving me all these opportunities that without your nomination, I would not have, however, I also respect if you wish to remain anonymous, but I want you to know from the bottom of my heart how grateful I am for your nomination am and I hope that one day someone does the same for you.

I would also like to say a huge thank you to Vivo hair & beauty New Zealand and Woman’s Day New Zealand for choosing me as your competition winner for Most Inspiring Woman because of you my life is going to change and the world is going to know how to help our struggling communities in need in both New Zealand and around the world. I also have an opportunity to be recognized for my work in the community, but I am mostly excited for the world to see how our communities are helping each other and how New Zealand is full of some amazing people. I cannot thank every single one of you enough for this once in a lifetime opportunity.

Written by Sheridan O’Donnell

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, standing(After my week I decided to go and celebrate this achievement and dine at The Good Home Restaurant and Bar in Takanini Auckland, New Zealand where this photo is captured).

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, closeup(A huge thank you from me to you, and a small message to say to all our followers here at The Planet Humanity Project to never be afraid to be who you are, to aim high and believe in your dreams, no dream is to big or to small, you have to believe in yourself, you have to be confident in who you are and you always have to remember that nothing in this life is impossible, everything is possible with hard work, guidance and a positive mind you can achieve anything you set your mind and heart to.) – Sheridan O’Donnell Owner-Operator of The Planet Humanity Project.

 

Leave a Reply

