Post Traumatic Stress Disorder: The Reality

Chapter One:

Trauma what is trauma? In the dictionary it states that trauma is defined as a noun “a deeply distressing or disturbing experience”. To a point this is true, but trauma cannot be explained in one sentence. I like to explain the trauma as an event, a tragedy, an image, a revolving round about of thoughts that circle the mind at unexpected times, days and hours. It’s like an hourglass in which every hour you turn the glass upside down and the story repeats all over again. But that is how I feel when I feel the depths of trauma creeping up on me, one second I can be fine and as bright as a bubble and 2 seconds later, it’s like someone is holding a picture of a tragic event and walking past me making me watch the scenario repeatedly. For me this is Trauma.

But let me explain this is my trauma and yes, it is scary and at times unbearable, but it is my trauma and I have slowly learned to develop strategies to help me get through a tough situation. I’m not saying this works for everyone, nor am I claiming that this book will be a miracle healer for you, but what I am explaining is that this is trauma and I am here to tell you the reality of what we call Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

So what define’s Post Traumatic stress disorder? In clinical terms it is explained as a noun “a condition of persistent mental and emotional stress occurring as a result of injury or severe psychological shock, typically involving disturbance of sleep and constant vivid recall of the experience, with dulled responses to others and to the outside world.” this is true to a point. How I would like to explain it is in simple terms, I believe PTSD is associated or created by a tragic event, or short term or prolonged injury. In this instance, this book will explain PTSD in relation to the experience of psychological shock formed in the mind as a result of experiencing a disturbing event.

PTSD is real and there are many suffers in this world, In my experience I never knew what PTSD was, I never expected to ever be affected by PTSD, I never expected to be in the position I was at a young age, and let me also let you know that even though PTSD can make you isolated, closed off, unaware of the world around you, anxious and more afraid in the moment than you ever were before, people with PTSD, Often do not place blame on other people for the way they are feeling, often PTSD sufferer’s begin to self blame, become more alert, create more anxiety and in general become completely isolated from the world.

To find out more about my book release Post Traumatic Stress Disorder: The Reality Author: Sheridan O’Donnell, Please keep following The Planet Humanity Project as we will have more updates on this book development over the year.

Image result for PTSD

 

Leave a Reply

