#TheReasonIspeak (Suicide Prevention Awareness Week) by The Planet Humanity Project.

Hi Everyone,

It is Suicide Prevention Awareness Week from the 6th-12th of September. It was also Suicide Prevention Awareness day on the 10th September. I found this page explaining what Suicide Prevention Day is and what you can do to raise awareness.

So what is Suicide Prevention day? Well, let me explain it is a day in which the world does all they can to raise awareness to prevent suicide. This is because around 800,000 people commit suicide every year and are normally between the ages of 15-24 however this age is getting younger and younger everyday dropping to ages as young as 13 years old.

Now there are a number of way’s you can get involved with raising awareness for Suicide prevention, which I will include at the end of this blog.However, I have chosen the task to speak out and take part in the #ThereasonIspeak campaign. This is because this subject is something very close to my heart.

In this challenge you write down a short sentence on why you are speaking out to help raise awareness for suicide prevention around the world on a chalk board or a piece of paper and finish it off by hashtagging #ThereasonIspeak and post it on twitter and other social media websites you may have. This creates a chain of people who are reaching out to those who may be having a difficult time or are affected that there are people who care and they are not alone.

Now this is extremely hard for me to speak about as I have not and choose not to speak about my experience often. But I felt like it was time for me to speak out about my experience with losing a loved one a very close person to suicide. (I will not be disclosing who they are or their personal information for safety reasons). The reason I speak is because I lost one of the most beautiful souls that I had ever known to suicide, they were like my best friend and my comfort on a cloudy day, I knew no different all I ever knew is that they would always be there for me and I never questioned that I would ever be without them. Life was good we were happy until one day I found this person laying in a room on a concrete floor and not only my world but a lot of people’s worlds were turned upside down when the paramedic said “I’m sorry but they didn’t make it” Time of Death “12:30pm”. And all you heard were the screams and the yelling of please no” It was traumatic and it was the hardest day of a lot of our lives.

We all had to readjust to a new way of life, my head was spinning with trauma and yes, I did suffer from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and at times I still do. But with therapy and Counselling I was able to better understand what depression is, what mental health is and how important it is to keep your mind safe.

I was still a very happy person and all my friends would always explain that I never really got angry or had a sadness about me and that was true to a certain point. You see I was still struggling to come to terms with the daily reminder that that person was not coming home that day, they would not be at my sports games and they would not be there for my milestones. It was sad, it hurt and it was hard, but I got through life and I am still here today living with less of a hole in my heart and more of an understanding of how to cope and adjust to life’s challenges. It has made me stronger as a person, more compassionate towards others and most importantly, it has made me who I am today, which is a better person than I have ever been before. I still have a few things to work on as a person, but I am growing and learning every single day.

So I guess the reason that I am finally speaking out is because I want to let the families and friends affected by a loved one who has committed suicide know that you are not alone, yes, it is going to be tough, it is going to be hard, you are going to ask why did they do this every single day and now it is not going to be easy some day’s you won’t even want to get out of bed and the pain is going to be so unbearable that all you do is cry yourself to sleep, but with therapy it will get easier and if you don’t like the therapist change your therapist until you find the perfect one for you, work through the signs you did or did not see with your therapist.

Tell your family you can’t cope today, tell your best friend that it’s too hard, let people know how you feel. In the 9 years that I have had to learn to adapt at 24 years old I have finally learned that you don’t always have to be strong, the people that care about you will understand and the rest while then you know who your real friends are. I am lucky as I have real friends that have surrounded me, but it has been hard for me to finally express how I really feel and honestly they have been amazing. I may have a few, but they are the few that have helped me so please find your few friends and be there for them like they are for you.

And so this is an honest blog about being a person that has lost someone to suicide, the realistic version not the sugarcoated version. Yes, it may be tough and hard to read, but this is the truth behind what it’s like to be a family member affected by suicide.

And I don’t post this to gloat about myself and I expect no praise I simply wish to be a good role model for the families out there affected and for those going through a hard time right now you see I have lost a lot of people in my life 2 of them to suicide yet with the help of my family mainly the toughness of my mother I was able to graduate high school, graduate from University with a double degree and are well on my way to a successful and stable career. But out of all my achievements my biggest achievement to date is realizing that the most important thing in my life is spending time with my family And friends. I am 24 years old and the year is nearly over and my only goal right now is to not cancel on my friends lunch catch ups and events. You see I was one of those people that would always cancel or not be able to show up and now my attitude has changed even if I have no cash in my pockets I will still make the effort to go to their houses and simply hang out or invite them to my house. The reason being that I never know when life will end or when someone else might disappear and I would have rather spent time with the most important people in my life then wake up the next day to regret that I could not spend that time with them.

And so I am speaking out, I am speaking out for the mother’s that lost their children, for the father’s that lost a wife, for a wife that lost their husband, for a best friend that lost their best friend, for a sibling that lost a sibling and for all those we lost to suicide, and those going through depression. You are not alone, reach out, get help you will not be judged for reaching out. You are beautiful, you are wonderful, you are a gift to this world, It is ok to not be ok, you do not have to be perfect, you are not useless, you are not a waste in this world, in fact you are a gift to this universe, to this world.

I know you might not know it now, but please just take my hand and trust me that life will get better, I’m not saying it is going to be easy, no it’s not, but with someone by your side it will get easier, things will change, you’ll feel better and on those bright day’s when I see you smile again you know what I will say “I will say you made it, You have done this, you tried, you reached out and you made it, now let go of my hand because I can you see standing, let’s let go of bad day’s now and let’s look after you so you can continue to feel what it is like to have A good day and anytime you get afraid take my hand again and we’ll figure it out together, but for now be proud of yourself because you made it through your darkest day’s.

Take part in #ThereasonIspeak Campaign and the first photo of me on my blog. Now join me by writing a sentence on The Reason Why I speak Campaign, Write down a short sentence about why you are speaking out to raise awareness for suicide prevention awareness week and don’t forget to hashtag #TheReasonISpeak #Theplanethumanityproject #suicideawarenessweek. And feel free to post it in the comments section below, to our Facebook page, twitter page or Instagram and we will share a collection of photos if we have any at the end of the week.

The Planet Humanity Project

By Princezz Pinkz.

All Rights Reserved.

If you or anyone you know is going through a hard time, please call the help lines below:

Free and available 24/7 suicide hotlines:
Argentina:54-0223-493-0430
Australia:13-11-14
Austria:01-713-3374
Barbados:429-9999
Belgium:106
Botswana:391-1270
Brazil:21-233-9191
China:852-2382-0000
(Hong Kong:2389-2222)
Costa Rica:606-253-5439
Croatia:01-4833-888
Cyprus:357-77-77-72-67
Czech Republic:222-580-697, 476-701-908
Denmark:70-201-201
Egypt:762-1602
Estonia:6-558-088
Finland:040-5032199
France:01-45-39-4000
Germany:0800-181-0721
Greece:1018
Guatemala:502-234-1239
Holland:0900-0767
Honduras:504-237-3623
Hungary:06-80-820-111
Iceland:44-0-8457-90-90-90
Israel:09-8892333
Italy:06-705-4444
Japan:3-5286-9090
Latvia:6722-2922, 2772-2292
Malaysia:03-756-8144
(Singapore:1-800-221-4444)
Mexico:525-510-2550
Netherlands:0900-0767
New Zealand:4-473-9739
New Guinea:675-326-0011
Nicaragua:505-268-6171
Norway:47-815-33-300
Philippines:02-896-9191
Poland:52-70-000
Portugal:239-72-10-10
Russia:8-20-222-82-10
Spain:91-459-00-50
South Africa:0861-322-322
South Korea:2-715-8600
Sweden:031-711-2400
Switzerland:143
Taiwan:0800-788-995
Thailand:02-249-9977
Trinidad and Tobago:868-645-2800
Ukraine:0487-327715

Also follow the World Suicide Prevention Day 2015 page on facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/World-Suicide-Prevention-Day-2015-518990431591642/timeline/

To find out how you can get involved with Suicide Prevention Awareness week check out this post: http://themighty.com/2015/09/7-easy-but-important-ways-to-participate-in-national-suicide-prevention-week/

To follow The Planet Humanity Project on Facebook checkout this link: https://www.facebook.com/The-Planet-Humanity-Project-466747326838316/timeline/

To follow The Planet Humanity Project on Twitter follow this link: https://twitter.com/PlanetHProject

To follow The Planet Humanity Project on Instagram follow this link: https://instagram.com/theplanethumanityproject/

Leave a Reply

