The NZ Ninja Baking Drop (Week Two) – The Planet Humanity Project.

Hi everyone,

Welcome to week two of The Planet Humanity Blog Posts. This week we are going to be writing about how we participated in the New Zealand Ninja Baking Drop. For those that don’t know what this is. It is a weekend event where registered bakers bake their hearts out for New Zealand citizens that have been nominated by dear friends and family. The aim is to bake and package your baking in a pretty way. Also attach the poem and random act of kindness card to the package, then to drop the package off to your nominees, front door or letter box without being caught by the person who live’s at the house. So I went ahead and kept checking my email for the NZ ninja baking drop for updates. And I eventually received the email to tell me who I was baking for and where they lived. I ended up with a nomination of 20 Adults and 7 children to bake for altogether.

So I went off to the supermarket I did not plan what I was going to bake, I just went to the supermarket and decided to buy the ingredients and just create something. So I had a $15 budget and went ahead and found sultanas, cocoa, chocolate chips, sugar and flour. I then took all my ingredients home and went home in a taxi. You see, the previous week another person had hit our car very badly and we were left with no car, it still has not been fixed and we have no idea if it will be either. So I hopped in the taxi with my regular shopping plus my baking and headed home. The next day I got up and started my baking first I made chocolate ring cakes so simple to make, I then went on and made sultana and banana loaf, but I also decided to make extra so I made chocolate chip blue colored muffins,sultana muffins and chocolate chip cookies! I decided that every house would get 2 plates.

One with a cake on it and one with muffins and chocolate chip cookies on it. I then let the baking cool down and placed them on orange and green plastic plates with a rainbow colored napkin placed on the bottom and over the top of them, I then wrapped each houses, plates and placed them in plastic bags, then covered them with a rainbow colored napkin for brightness and placed their poem and random act of kindness card in an envelope. The organizer of the event was then able to pick up my packages to deliver as I could not deliver them due to my car being at the panel beaters. She was very lovely and enthusiastic and also let me know that someone she had delivered to that day cried with tears of joy when they received one of their packages.

This was such a touching thing. I then went onto Facebook and had seen one of my friends post a photo of the baking she received as a random act of kindness, it was beautiful to see that someone had also baked for one of my very good friends. Then we headed onto the NZ Ninja Baking Drop Facebook page and felt intense joy from reading the 100’s of posts that were being placed on their pagesFrom people who had been receiving baking anonymously at their doorsteps and writing about the joy they received for this act of kindness.

Overall, it was an enjoyable experience, it helped me to get away from the world for 1 day. I was able to just bake all day long and not think about anything else. It was a very healing thing for me to be able to share my love and joy of baking and to be able to share my baking with 5 households which in total had 20 adults and 7 children living in these houses. I genuinely hope that those that received these parcels enjoyed every single treat. Now I will share one of my recipes with you below.

The Recipe for Sultana and Banana Cake is:

1 cup of self raising flour

3 mashed banana’s

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup vegetable oil.

1 Cup Sultanas

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees, Place all ingredients into a large bowl, stir until combined add extra sultanas if needed. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Photo’s of our baking:

A recipient in my house also received a special ninja baking drop at her door, she woke up to receive a very healthy and yummy container full of gluten free orange chocolate chip cookies. We did not see the ninja who dropped the container off, but the recipient enjoyed them very much. We would like to say thank you to the Ninja who dropped these lovely cookies off.

Photo’s of the Gluten Free Orange Chocolate Chip cookies that were received Including the poem and random act of kindness card that were attached to it.

We would also like to say thank you to the NZ Ninja Baking Drop for running a successful and enjoyable event. We appreciate the time and effort that was put into making this project a success.

If you would like to find out more about the NZ Ninja Baking Drop head over to one of the links below:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nzninjabakingdrop?fref=ts

Website: http://nzninjabakingdrop.weebly.com

The Planet Humanity Project by Princezz Pinkz.

Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Planet-Humanity-Project/466747326838316?fref=ts

Follow us on Intsagram: theplanethumanityproject

Follow us on Twitter: @PlanetHProject

One thought on “The NZ Ninja Baking Drop (Week Two) – The Planet Humanity Project.

Leave a Reply

